National Herstory

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Bessie M. Downey Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University. Soaring To Greater Heights Of Attainment Around The World, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.

National Website

Sigma Gamma Rho, Alpha Chapter,
Butler University, 1924

Northeast Region Herstory

Grand Basileus and various chapters,
Northeast Regional Conference, Washington DC 2012

The Northeast Region was organized in 1939 at the Boule in New York City hosted by Kappa Sigma Chapter. The chapters included were: Alpha Zeta, Virginia State College, Petersburg, V.A., Alpha Pi, Hunter College, New York, N.Y., Alpha Phi, Howard University, Washington, D.C., Tau, Virginia Union University, Richmond, V.A., Iota Sigma, Richmond, V.A., Kappa Sigma, New York, N.Y., Phi Sigma, Washington, D.C., and Omega Sigma, Newport News, V.A.

Soror Edna F. Browne, Phi Sigma, was elected the first Northeast Regional Syntaktes. In May 1940, the first Northeast Regional Conference was held Virginia Union University with Iota Sigma as the Hostess Chapter.

The Northeast Region is currently comprised of the following areas: Bermuda, eastern Canada, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Haiti, Korea, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Northeast Region Website

Delta Beta Sigma Chapter Herstory

The Norfolk Chapter was organized on May 18, 1968. There were ten charter members: Geraldine Clemons, Silvia Clemons, Thelma Clemmons, Dr. Ruth W. Diggs, Mary Holloman, Linda Jackson, Hattie Jones, Caril Milton, Ada Throckmorton and Jeneal Worrell. Ada Throckmorton was the first Basileus of the Delta Beta Sigma Chapter.

Striving to enhance the goals of the sorority, our annual projects focus on providing services and funding to many community organizations, churches, schools and students.

We are the sponsoring alumnae chapter of the undergraduate chapter at Old Dominion University (Theta Chi Chapter) and at Norfolk State University (Gammu Nu Chapter).

Delta Beta Sigma Website

Executive Board of Delta Beta Sigma
Chapter with The International Grand Basileus